Barefoot Comrades 2014 – The Challenge

Almost 1250 days ago, 1 January 2010, I decided to stop wearing shoes. With the odd exception, going mountain biking, running further than 10 km’s, and the odd occasion I get onto my scooter, I’ve been barefoot.

I go to shops barefoot, I attend weddings barefoot, I drive barefoot, I preach barefoot, I sleep barefoot, I take showers barefoot (sic!); all year round. Excluding the exceptions above, I do not wear shoes at all. Why? I’ll get to that in a later post. For now it is only important that for almost 3.5 years I’ve been going bare, at least as far as my feet are concerned.

So I think the time has come for a serious barefoot challenge, and Comrades 2014 is it. The challenge comes in two parts.

The first part; start, run, and complete Comrades 2014 barefoot. That is, run close on 90 km’s from Pietermaritzburg to Durban barefoot.

The second part; start the run not in Pietermaritzburg, but rather in Johannesburg. This will mean a run of approximately 600 km’s to get to the finish line of Comrades 2014.

At the moment this is an idea, a challenge, a journey, an adventure that is beckoning. More on the journey, the joys and pains, the ups and downs will follow on this blog.

Please contact me if you would like to become part of the journey!

Leave a Reply

